• Fri. May 24th, 2024

KEPSA Appoints First Female Chair, Ms Flora Mutahi

May 31, 2021
733 300

The Kenya Private Sector Alliance (KEPSA) has appointed Ms Flora Mutahi as the first female Board Chair and Mr. Jaswinder Bedi as the Vice-Chair. Ms Mutahi is part of the new leadership team unveiled during KEPSA’s 17th Annual General Meeting which was held virtually.

During the AGM, KEPSA appreciated the outgoing leaders for all the successful initiatives they spearheaded while in office. KEPSA also released its annual report which documents all actions and outcomes of year 2020 projects including the upcoming plans detailing the shift into the new Simba II Era.

KEPSA CEO, Ms. Carole Kariuki Karuga highlighted part of the efforts that KEPSA has embarked on to support businesses during the Covid-19 pandemic period. Ms. Kariuki also applauded the outgoing leaders and entire KEPSA leadership for their determination in steering the organization to the next level.

Arch. Lee Karuri – outgoing KEPSA Foundation Chair, Ms Martha Cheruto – KEPSA Deputy CEO, Ms Flora Murahi – incoming KEPSA Board Chair, Ms Carole Kariuki Karuga – KEPSA CEO, Mr Nik Nesbitt – outgoing KEPSA chair

“We appreciate our members for standing with and believing in us even through such times.” said Ms. Kariuki.

“Going forward our start-ups, micro and small medium enterprises (MSMEs) who form the largest number of our new members, can feel at home in our newly-established SME Club at KEPSA. As members they can more effectively formulate proposals and solutions to issues affecting them.” She added.

After deliberations, the nominated directors to serve for the next two years were confirmed as Ms Flora Mutahi (Chair), Mr. Jaswinder Bedi (Vice- Chair), Mr. Darren J Gillen, Mr. Stephen Gatagama, Mr. Troy Yue, Mr. John Gachora, Mr. Macharia Muthondu, Mr. Mucai Kunyiha, Mr. Allen Gichuhi, Mr. Graham Shaw, Dr. Elizabeth Wala, Ms. Catherine Musakali, Ms. Eva Muraya, Mr. Bimal Kantaria, Eng. James Mwangi and Mr. Nicholas Nesbitt (Ex-Officio). Some of the appointed leaders also served in the previous leadership team.

“My appointment as the first ever female chair is a testimony to KEPSA taking a giant step in the right direction of entrenching inclusivity and meritocracy in our leadership. We should continue with this drive and include not just women but also youth, persons living with disabilities, and MSME owners and leaders.” Ms Flora affirmed.

Mr. Patrick Obath was appointed as the KEPSA Foundation Chair and Ms. Gloria Ndekei will serve as the Vice-Chair.

The outgoing Chair, Mr. Nicolas Nesbitt congratulated the new team saying,

KEPSA CEO Ms Carole Kariuki Karuga together with Ms Flora Murahi, newly appointed KEPSA Board Chair

“I am proud of what KEPSA has achieved during these challenging and unprecedented times and gladly look forward with great anticipation to further successes in the years to come under the new leadership team.”


Ms. Flora Mutahi     Melvins Marsh International
Mr. Jaswinder Bedi Bedi Investments
Mr. Darren J GillenEU Business Council      
Mr. Stephen GatagamaNation Media Group
Mr. Troy YueChina Young Tai Engineering Company Limited
Mr. John GachoraKenya Bankers Association
Mr. Macharia MuthonduFederation of Kenya Employers
Mr. Mucai KunyihaKenya Association of Manufacturers
Allen GichuhiLaw Society of Kenya
Mr. Graham Shaw.British Chamber of Commerce Kenya
Dr. Elizabeth WalaKenya Healthcare Federation
Ms. Catherine MusakaliWomen on Boards Network
Eva MurayaKenya Associations of Women Business Owners
Mr. Bimal KantariaAgriculture Sector Network
Eng. James MwangiAssociation of Consulting Engineers
Mr. Nicholas Nesbitt Immediate Past Chair

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *